Dunwich or Bust

Tatyanna in HollywoodBucket List: Travel to a new location every year for the rest of my life. I am now 47 and it has been a few years since I have done this. The time has come to get on the bus, literally, and start a new adventure.

On saturday August 7th I depart for Phoenix, New Orleans, Atlanta, D.C., Rochester New York, Springfield, MA and Tampa Florida then fly back to Los Angeles from New York City at the end of September.

Bitten by the Travel Bug

Tatyanna at 5When I was 5 my mother, her partner and I hopped on a bus armed with an “Experience America” bus pass. We went all over the U.S. I was blessed to get the travel and adventure bug on that month long journey. I can pinpoint my desire to move from Massachusetts to California to carrot cake on my 6th birthday at a health food restaurant in San Francisco. When I arrive at my final destination I will interview my mom about that trip.

When I was 16, my father took my sister and I with him on a trip to London so he could do some medical business. We had a blast and my lust for International travel was solidified.

Right of Passage

Roman_Baths_in_Bath_England
Roman Baths in Bath England

In 1987, when I was 19 I traveled alone, for the first time, for 30 days. I decide to return to England. More on that in another post. It was a life changing trip. I have also traveled solo to Amsterdam, Toronto and many U.S. cities. I have not traveled as much as I have wanted to.

I think every person should have the opportunity to travel, whether alone or in a small group before they are 25-30. It exposed me to people and cultures that expanded my view and perspective of the world, informed who I am politically and gave me the ability to look beyond the borders of my home, my town, my state, my country. This time in my life was formative. I was able to be a sponge and not jaded by so much chaos that the world tosses at us as parents, workers and bread winners later in life. I was also more brave and spontaneous so I was able to go with the flow when things fell apart.

My Working Vacay

As of tomorrow, I am embarking on a 2 mos. adventure across the United States. I will have my laptop and camera with me. I am a web designer and virtual assistant so I will be working during my whole trip. I am blessed to be able to work from anywhere. This Working Vacay will be my first but I am sure, not my last.

Travel Office

Sure, it’s not as “sexy” as saying I will be traveling the globe, yet I know this trip has the promise of being another life transforming journey. This time I am traveling by bus. I will end up back “home” in Massachusetts for a few weeks. In the meantime I will visit friends, make new ones and generally play it by ear.

My favorite type of traveling is loosely planned. My original itinerary has shifted on it’s own and I still need to find a couple of places to stay in a couple of cities. That, to me, is part of the excitement of travel.

I will post photo essays, stories and maybe even a few videos along the way. I hope you will stay tuned!

Note about my blog banner: a friend of mine, Jack Ruttan, is a very talented cartoonist and charicature artist. We worked together to create the banner you see above. 

My cats: I will truly miss my furry children the most. the Tuxedo is Brigid, the Snow Shoe kitty is Menawa. They are staying with a dear friend. 

Dunwich as my destination: I am from Massachusetts. ‘nuf said. It was not until after I got my finished banner from my artist friend that I realized the blog theme I had chosen was called “Lovecraft”. Coincidence? I think not. I shall bring one die to do sanity checks daily. heh

One thought on “Dunwich or Bust

  1. Pingback: Homeless or Nomad? – Working Vacay

Leave a Reply

